

PRESS RELEASE

The New Brunswick Association of Occupational Therapists *Award of Merit* honors NBAOT member(s) who have made an outstanding contribution to the profession. It is intended to share the accomplishments and contributions of fellow occupational therapist(s) and to inspire members to contribute to the development of the profession.

NBAOT has awarded the Saint John Plastics Occupational Therapists with a 2021 Award of Merit for outstanding contribution to hand therapy within the Occupational Therapy profession. These OTs at the Saint John Regional Hospital have been world leaders in the field of hand therapy. Working closely with Dr. Don Lalonde, they have provided evidenced based practice concepts that are used by hand therapists around the globe. Some of the most influential notions that Dr. Lalonde and his team of OTs at the Saint John Regional Hospital have developed include pain guided therapy for hand fractures, flexor tendon rehabilitation and relative motion splinting.

Lisa Flewelling, OTReg (NB); Amanda Higgins, OTReg (NB) and Carolyn Smith

NBAOT recognizes the following Occupational Therapists with a 2021 Award of Merit for their lengthy involvement with a Department of Social Development project that helped revamp the entire Mobility and Adaptive Equipment Loan program. Their involvement was essential in providing the clinical expertise needed to develop the clinical criteria for every piece of equipment funded through the program.

Connie Dunnett, OTReg (NB), Faye Cooper, OTReg (NB), Albert McLaughlin, OTReg (NB), Lucille Dionne, OTReg (NB) and Kara Reid, OTReg (NB)

Photo's attached.

The New Brunswick Association of Occupational Therapists is a professional and regulatory organization that exists to advance quality occupational therapy practice in the interest of public protection and to represent occupational therapist's province-wide by advancing standards of education and practice and shaping health policy.



(L. to R.) Carolyn Smith, OTReg (NB), Amanda Higgins, OTReg (NB), Lisa Flewelling, OTReg (NB)



Connie Dunnett, OTReg (NB)



Faye Cooper, OTReg (NB)



Kara Reid, OTReg (NB)



Albert McLaughlin, OTReg (NB)



Lucille Dionne, OTReg (NB)